Haridwar district came into existence on 28th Dec. 1988. Prior to its inclusion in the newly created state of Uttarakhand, this district was a part of Saharanpur Divisional Commissionary. The district is headed by District Magistrate/District Collector/Deputy Commissioner. The district headquarter is situated in the Roshnabad, at a distance of about 12 kms from railway station. Good transport service is available in the form of local bus, tempo (vikram) to reach Roshnabad. The Collectorate, Vikas Bhawan, District Judiciary, S.P. Office, Police line, District Jail, District sports stadium, District navodaya Vidyalaya etc. are the prime establishments of this area. The district is administratively subdivided into four tehsils i.e. Haridwar, Roorkee,Laksar ,Bhagwanpur and six development blocks i.e. Bhagwanpur, Roorkee, Narsan, Bahadrabad, Laksar and Khanpur. The subdivisions are headed by Sub Divisional Officer, normally called SDM. Each subdivision serves the purpose of general, criminal and revenue administration of the district. For development works, a chief development officer (CDO) is posted at district head quarter who heads a team of Block Development Officers at blocks. The office of CDO is located in Vikas Bhawan at Roshnabad.

The Collectorate play a pivotal role in the District administration. Collector in the Cadre of I.A.S. and heads the District. For maintaining Law and Order in his jurisdiction a collector acts as District Magistrate. Sections operate under Collectorate are as below:-

  1. Chief Administrative Officer
  2. Senior Administrative Officer
  3. RA
  4. GC
  5. LAC
  6. Stamp
  7. BC-I
  8. BC-II
  9. JA
  10. ALC-I
  11. ALC-II
  12. LBC-I
  13. LBC-II
  14. Extra Copyist
  15. AJA
  17. Najarat
  18. Bhulekh
  19. Excise
  20. DLRC
  21. Chief Reader
  22. RTI
  23. English Record Keeper
  24. Samadhan
  25. Form Keeper
  26. Revenue Record Keeper